IELTS Overview

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a mandatory entrance requirement by British, Australian, New Zealand, Ireland and Canadian universities and for secondary, vocational and training programs and immigration purposes. These days many American universities have started accepting valid scores apart from TOEFL.

IELTS is designed to assess the English language ability of candidates who are not from the native English speaking countries and who need to study or work where English is the main language of communication.

More than 5000 organizations and 1 million test takers around the world trust and recognize IELTS as a secure, valid and reliable indicator of fluency to communicate in English for education, immigration and professional accreditation in various countries.

IELTS is organized jointly by British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL) through more than 500 locations in 130 countries.

British Council:
Please contact for further information or visit

IDP: IELTS Australia:
Please contact for further information or visit

University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL):
Please contact for further information or visit

Academic and General Training Modules:

Candidates need to select either the Academic or General Training Modules depending on the stated requirement of their receiving institution. The Academic Modules assess whether a candidate is ready to study or train in the medium of English at an Undergraduate or Postgraduate level. The emphasis of General Training is on basic survival skills in a broad social and educational context. It is suitable for candidates who are going to English speaking countries to complete their Secondary Education, to undertake work or for immigration purposes.

Reading (Academic or General)
Writing (Academic or General)

You can get more information at: